IRON EAGLE Soundtrack: 1 of the top 5 soundtracks of the 80’s – My Take

This is one the 5 best soundtracks from the 80’s to one of the cheesiest movies from the 80’s. I will be unveiling the other 4 soundtracks over the next few weeks. Don’t get me wrong, I, along with my best friend Robbie, are Iron Eagle fans (at least the 1st movie). What makes this movie for me is the soundtrack. It is just fantastic fun. My boy Rob on the other hand, can’t admit how much he loves music he would otherwise scoff at. You know you LOVE it… but I digress. As of now, in Alabama, the warm weather is rolling in, the scent of Jasmine & Honeysuckle are in the air and it makes me nostalgic of when I would ride around in my ’78 Camaro, with my windows down, blaring Hard & Heavy music Loud & Proud. One of my favorites as a teenager was the IRON EAGLE soundtrack. Nowadays I grab my tiny wife, hop on my bike (2003 V Star 1100 custom), put in my iPod earbuds, and cruise the back roads to this glorious compilation from the Rock Gods. If you aren’t familiar with it, let me see if I can help you out. The first track is “One Vision” by QUEEN. Until the “A Kind of Magic” album was released, this soundtrack was the only way it was available. If I remember correctly, it is the only time all 4 Queen Members had a hand in writing a single song. I am sure you know the song and it ROCKS!! Track 2 is from the excellent AOR hard rock band, KING KOBRA, entitled “Never Say Die (Iron Eagle)”, it is the quintessential movie song. Fist pumping, regal keyboards, and the “me against the world” lyric. It also appears on KING KOBRA’s final album with Mark Free “Thrill of a Lifetime”. Great AOR album. Track 3 is from a pre-MR. BIG Eric Martin. The song “These Are The Good Times” is actually 1 of 2 tracks from the movie, but this is the only Eric Martin song put on the soundtrack. It is a good mid-tempo, radio-friendly, Eric Carmen type song, to be honest. Track 6 is from the legend himself, Ronnie James and his band DIO. They put out one of the best DIO songs you will ever hear, on this album. It is called “Hide in The Rainbow”. For one, it plays really well in the movie, when Doug is on his own, and he thinks his father is dead, this song comes creeping in like darkness as Doug goes on his attack run. It’s AWESOME! The track also appeared on an import DIO compilation called “DIAMONDS-The Best of DIO”. That song is followed up by a band that, I believe, never got their due… HELIX’s “It’s Too Late” is a great song, not just for HELIX, just in general. The track originally appeared on HELIX’s 1981 release “White Lace & Black Leather”. Typical HELIX in its great guitar riffage and sing-along chorus. I wish people would have paid more attention to bands of their caliber, than mistakes like POISON, but that’s for another time. Next up is the band ADRENALIN with “Road of The Gypsy”. This is another very cool, AOR track from a band that embraced the “Arena Rock” sound. A singer like Bob Segar and a sound like latter day .38 Special. The final track is stated to be from the band Jon Butcher Axis entitled “The Raging Fire”. Here’s the thing about this song… it is actually KING KOBRA. The band Jon Butcher Axis was signed to Capitol at the time (the label that distributed the soundtrack), but the track is by KING KOBRA. With the aforementioned “Never Say Die (Iron Eagle)”, it also appears on KING KOBRA’s “Thrill of a Lifetime” album. I don’t know how, or why, this happened. Even when the soundtrack began being pressed to Compact Disc, the mistake was never corrected. It actually sounds so different to the typical KING KOBRA sound, one can’t really tell it is the same band. The song writing and lyric seem more mature than what passed for normal KING KOBRA fare. I had never heard of Jon Butcher Axis, so I thought it was that band. When I got “Thrill of a Lifetime”, I was floored to see the song on the album. I figured it was KING KOBRA’s version, but it is the same recording that appears on the soundtrack. Excellent AOR song though. Tracks from Katrina & The Waves (Maniac House), George Clinton (Intense), and Urgent (Love Can Make You Cry), round out this primarily Hard Rock soundtrack. Surprisingly, it is still readily available from Amazon and other retailers, for a great price (on average $7.99 for the CD). This is truly a “Good Times & Party Hearty” soundtrack. If you know it, you love it. If you don’t, check it out. If you love Hard Rock & Heavy Metal from the Reagan era… you won’t be disappointed. Thanks for reading. \m/

6 thoughts on “IRON EAGLE Soundtrack: 1 of the top 5 soundtracks of the 80’s – My Take

  1. Loved this movie back in the day! Didn’t remember the soundtrack. Just the kid and the cassette. I will have to give it a listen. I’d like to see what other four soundtracks make this list.

    • I’ll let you in on the secret list (that noone cares about) when you make the visit. I should have the next one posted before you leave. I have 2 more blogs (Lady Antebellum & Sons of Liberty) I want to post first. Do you know this movie is still only available in Full-Frame on DVD. That’s a travesty. Talk to you soon. \m/

  2. You know I like the one song… and now I’m watching it on NetFlix. Gold Star, and the fact that all of the pictures you included look like they were clipped out of a “Out and Proud” Magazine from 1988 didn’t hurt either.

    • I wanted to use picks of the artist from “Back in the Day”. I found more recent picks of the same artist… but they were just so sad. Except Ronnie DIO… that guy was born looking like an old wizard. “This one for you, Chappy”.

  3. I simply admire Helix a tremendous Metal amount. I wonder… if they came out of L.A. back then, with a history of “bad boy” news bulletins, would Helix have been a bigger household name?

    In the end, Helix is still around and making new music. Helix has nothing to prove to Old School Metalheads like you and me anyways!

    Great read is this post… those movie soundtracks from days gone by really do “hide” some cool songs on them!

    Stone \m/

    • I just posted a blog about THE WRAITH soundtrack, and it has another one of those songs that is exclusive to that soundtrack. I guess the artist see them as throwaway tracks. Also, you can’t go wrong with HELIX, what a great, great band. Til next time…

Leave a Reply

