I, Price

In this world I am an Atheist, because I don’t believe in a god. I don’t necessarily call myself an Atheist; I am called an Atheist because of that particular facet of the person that is me. I also don’t believe in Dragons, or Magic, or Psychic ability. Now what am I? I think most would agree I am a reasonable person not to believe in such things. For me, not believing in gods is no different.

I am also called a non-believer, which doesn’t seem fair. I believe in love, kindness, reciprocity, friendship… I believe in a lot of things.

I am called a heathen because I do not acknowledge scripture as law. I would hope after a thorough reading, you wouldn’t either. I disagree with slavery as a practice, or that we should kill homosexuals simply for the perceived crime of being a homosexual. I wholesale disagree with the law that states if my daughter is raped, everything can be made just if the rapist gives me money and then marries my daughter.

I am called a heretic because I turned my back on faith and dogma… okay, that one fits.

I am called an infidel, which translates to unfaithful. I am faithful, to my wife and our marriage. To my girls as their protector and provider. To my friends and earned loyalty. I am faithful to a great many things, none which require me to believe in the supernatural. I have faith in my wife, my girls, my abilities, and my sense of what is just and what is wrong.

I am, however, an Anti-Theist. I am opposed to organized religions and hypocritical dogma. I am against the idea of dying to this life, only to live an eternity in servitude to a king with no guarantee of freedom.

All of these label being stated… I am me. I am loyal and questioning. I am faithful and fearful. I love my family and loathe my sister. I believe in hard work and try to avoid it at every turn. I am disgusted with my country, but, unwilling to move to another. I am a walking, talking dichotomy that is also a hypocrite. This writing is for nothing, other than, I believe you also share in this existence. You strive to be better, whilst trying to not degrade into who you once were. I hope your life continues in a way you can be proud of. Thanks for your time. \m/

Leave a Reply

